Home > Worship > Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross refers to a series of images depicting Jesus Christ on the day of his crucifixion and accompanying prayers. The stations grew out of imitations of Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem which is believed to be the actual path Jesus walked to Mount Calvary. The object of the stations is to help the Christian faithful to make a spiritual pilgrimage through contemplation of the Passion of Christ.

Our stations are the 14 relief images on the walls of the main church during the service, we move from one image to the next stopping for a period of reflection and prayer.

The Stations of the Cross

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen
May God, our strength and salvation, be with you all. And also with you.

Once we were far off, but now in union with Christ Jesus we have been brought near through the shedding of Christ’s blood, for he is our peace. Ephesians 2.13-14

At the station Jesus stops.  He stops to speak to people with compassion; he stops because he falls with exhaustion; he stops because he reaches Golgotha, the place of his execution.
And he stands with humanity in all that brings us to a standstill.   We can be brought to a stop because of illness or bereavement.   We can be brought to a stop because of a change in circumstances or by the sadness of a suffering world.
As we walk the stations we know that Jesus walks with us, and that we bring us with him to resurrection. So we set out in great hope.

Let us pray
Almighty Father, 
who in your tender love towards the human race sent your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ to take upon the cross: 
grant that we may follow the example of his patience and humility, 
and also be made partakers of his resurrection; through Jesus Christ our Lord. 


<<  1 | 2
6th Station
Stations of the Cross ​​​​​​​6 Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

7th Station
Stations of the Cross 7 Jesus falls the second time

8th Station
Stations of the Cross 8 Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem

9th Station
Stations of the Cross 9 Jesus falls for the third time

<<  1 | 2